No Mo FOMO

FOMO
Fear of Missing Out
This strange phenomenon affects me probably a lot more than it should. It’s the reason I stopped watching people’s Snapchat stories. The reason I feel the need to post Snapchat stories when I am hanging out with my friends. It’s the reason I have a lot of passive aggressive tendencies whenever my friends hang out with each other and don’t invite me. I’ve had it for as long as my friends have been able to hang out with each other. I wish I could be able to feel happy that my friends have other friends, but I am really protective over my friends. And greedy, definitely greedy. I have seriously got to learn that my friends are their own people and do not belong to me.

But I am trying. Once you become confident in your relationships, you stop worrying about losing your friends to other people. I know that my friends becoming close to someone else does not affect our relationship. People grow and evolve. I’m growing and evolving. I’m no longer bitter or resentful. I’m free and happy. I might still have pretty bad FOMO, but I’ve learned how to enjoy the time alone.

Or to just ask other people to hang out with me.

-your favorite people person

Author: nandismith

I'm a 19 year old girl. I like books, movies, music, my dog Kona, and anything to do with the word veggie burger. I suck at describing myself so I asked my friends to do it for me: Unique, great friend, carefree Calm, charismatic, enthusiastic, imaginative, passionate, pro-active, sociable, placid, hilarious, ambitious, amazing, trustworthy, the bomb.com active, sarcastic, and daring, a fart

Leave a Reply

