iHope you agree

“I’m looking through you while you’re looking through your phone…”

Has anyone noticed how often millennials are on their phones? Like, ask me when they do it, I say often. Like I just want to talk to my friends, and instead I’m talking to their phones. The line above is from the song Somebody Else by the 1975. And, no, the song has really nothing to do with this topic, but that line resonated with me so much. Even I have come to the point where, if I foresee an awkward moment, my immediate reaction is to reach for my phone. I hate that. I want to be able to talk to my friends and not have to worry that they aren’t listening to me because they’re snapchatting, or going through their Instagram, or checking their Twitter. I think I’m going to start putting my phone on airplane mode when I’m hanging out with my friends. I want to have conversations with my best pals, like I came to hang out with you, not your phone.

I know this is a genuine concern that a lot of people other than me have. I know that this is probably a mute point and the next time I hang out with my friends, I’ll probably end up reaching for my phone for comfort at some point. I just wanted to share with you guys that the people you surround yourself with are so much more important than Kylie Jenner’s latest story, or “OMG LOOK WHAT SO AND SO POSTED ON THEIR INSTA.”

I want our generation to be known for something other than the fact that we have an unusual attachment to technology. It bugs me, a lot. Alright, I’m done ranting. Just, talk to your friends, look them in the eyes, show genuine interest in what they’re saying, not genuine interest in your iPhone 6.

-your favorite people person

Author: nandismith

I'm a 19 year old girl. I like books, movies, music, my dog Kona, and anything to do with the word veggie burger. I suck at describing myself so I asked my friends to do it for me: Unique, great friend, carefree Calm, charismatic, enthusiastic, imaginative, passionate, pro-active, sociable, placid, hilarious, ambitious, amazing, trustworthy, the bomb.com active, sarcastic, and daring, a fart

Leave a Reply

