Storytime

Hey, I was going to show you guys a poem today, but I don’t feel like it. Instead, I’m going to take a page out of Austin’s book (eyecontacked.tumblr.com) and tell a story.

So, I happen to frequent the Y a lot. Monday night, I went with my friends Lauren and Cece to Zumba. The class was poppin, but that’s besides the point. Anyway, as we were walking out Cece found someone’s Y card left on the ground. I, personally, would have kept walking, but Cece is a way better person than me and decided to give it to the front desk.

We all part ways after that and, not even a mile from the Y, I realize I left my phone in the dance studio. I u-turn and speed to the Y wondering why on earth I can’t be more responsible. I park as close as a I can, race inside, scan my card, and run up to see my phone sitting on the exact bench I left it at.

I go back downstairs and as I’m saying goodbye to the people at the front desk, a man and his son walk in and ask if anyone has turned in a membership card.

I stop in my tracks. This must be a coincidence, I think. But then the lady scans the card Cece found, and, sure enough, it’s the man’s card! I smile to myself as I make my way back to my car and immediately text Lauren and Cece the cool news.

This story is meant to show that things happen for a reason. If I wouldn’t have left my phone, I would have never known that the small deed Cece did, that I pushed aside, actually made a difference in someone’s life.

Ok anyway, it’s a sad Saturday for sure, but it is Spring Break. Do something to make your day, or someone else’s, a little brighter.

-your favorite people person

Author: nandismith

I'm a 19 year old girl. I like books, movies, music, my dog Kona, and anything to do with the word veggie burger. I suck at describing myself so I asked my friends to do it for me: Unique, great friend, carefree Calm, charismatic, enthusiastic, imaginative, passionate, pro-active, sociable, placid, hilarious, ambitious, amazing, trustworthy, the bomb.com active, sarcastic, and daring, a fart

Leave a Reply

