Growing Up

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but people have a tendency to start growing up at some point in their lives. I don’t mean physically growing up, everyone obviously does that. No, I mean when we finally take the leap from adolescence to adulthood in our minds. We decide that maybe we should actually listen to the advice of elders. We decide that it’s time to buckle down and do something productive with our lives. We apply to college, get jobs, live on our own. We leave behind our favorite childhood movies, books, TV shows and start watching and reading more age appropriate things. I don’t know about you, but I’m seriously not ready to grow up. Being a teenager is honestly such a pleasant thing to be. We’re wild, reckless, apathetic, and we have every excuse to be those things. When we were younger we placed a stigma on childhood. Being a kid means you have rules to follow, restrictions on what you can do, and you have to listen to what your parents tell you. But as you get older you realize you want to follow those rules, restrict certain addictions, and listen to your parents amazing advice. I’m not necessarily saying this is a bad thing, in fact, it is actually necessary in order to be a successful adult. I’m just saying that I’m not ready for that type of responsibility yet. I don’t want to give up these last glorious years of youth I have. Years where I can be dumb, fun, and not have a care in the world with no consequences. I am cherishing every moment and minute of my youth. I hope to be young for the rest of my life, even when I’m old because being young means being innocent, happy, and unperturbed by the terrible things that go on around us. People just need to stop growing up, get that stick out of their butt, and have some fun, ok?

-your favorite people person

Author: nandismith

I'm a 19 year old girl. I like books, movies, music, my dog Kona, and anything to do with the word veggie burger. I suck at describing myself so I asked my friends to do it for me: Unique, great friend, carefree Calm, charismatic, enthusiastic, imaginative, passionate, pro-active, sociable, placid, hilarious, ambitious, amazing, trustworthy, the bomb.com active, sarcastic, and daring, a fart

Leave a Reply

